Motivation vs Inspiration

Over the course of my journey through fitness, and now into personal training, I’ve had many ups, downs, trials, tribulations and points where I’ve wanted to just throw in the towel and call it quits. Even to this day, I’ve doubted me and my abilities to become successful in my endeavors and have attempted to look to others for motivation. What I have come to realize is that, while having others push you along and help guide you down your path, it’s ultimately not them that’s “motivating you” but more inspiring you to do and be better. At the end of the day, it’s on you to get better. You have to know the difference between inspiration and motivation.

I can recall late last year, when I was at my lowest. I wasn’t sure what I wanted out of life and everything else was suffering because of it. My personal life was a wreck to say the least. I was unhappy with my professional life (though I loved my job, it just felt like it wasn’t for me) and I was skimping on the one thing that kept me balanced, my gym life. I felt like I was just going through the motions but not moving anywhere. I was paddling the boat, but seemed to be going in a giant circle. I lacked motivation. I looked to others to find said motivation and thought, by doing this, I would get back on the right track. Though I found many people and things that inspired me to do better, I still didn’t find that spark to get me off my ass and get things going. There is where I saw my issue. I knew I had to push myself to get motivated, not find someone or something to motivate me.

Now, I’m not saying that having an inspiration is bad. In fact, I encourage you to search for that person, that thing, that energy that gives you the drive to want to get motivated. But that’s the thing, YOU have to get motivated. YOU have to look into yourself and decide, is this the day I change it up and make myself better. Not because someone told you to, or because you see someone with something you want. You want to know why they have it? Because they motivated themselves to get there and get it! You have to find that drive within you to get it done and make the sacrifices necessary to want to achieve the goals you want to achieve. No one is going to hand you anything. Use the tools you have and make yourself better.

This is true through all aspects in life, nutrition and getting in shape a prime example. I’ve had many people ask me what I did to get motivated and I simply tell them, I needed to get it done for me. Yes, I wanted six-pack abs. Yes, I wanted a healthier lifestyle and yes I wanted to be a personal trainer, but it was ultimately up to me to do those things for myself. Did it take hard work and sacrifice? You damn right it did! But, in the end, I wouldn’t trade any of it for the world and I feel much better because of it. I find myself in a similar situation now, wanting to transition to my own business and go online. I’m getting that inner motivation to succeed in the best ways possible and using tools available to achieve my dreams. You can too!

I can scream inspirational quotes and sayings at you all day, but you ultimately have to take the plunge for yourself. I can provide the tools you need to make yourself a better you, but you have to provide the investment in order to do so. So I ask you, what are you waiting for? Why are you hesitating? Don’t use “lack of motivation” as an excuse. That’s a scapegoat. You are holding you back. Don’t do this to yourself anymore and make that investment. Get off the couch, invest in yourself and just do it. Ain’t nothing to it but to.

Be your own superhero and save yourself. Be your motivation.

Until next time,

Jordan Douglass “The Fit-Blerd”

Leave a Reply

